Welcome to Westchester County! 


Located in Southern NY State and just above New York City, this mainly suburban county is part of the New York Metropolitan Area.  Approximately 950,000 people reside here in this beautiful and physically diverse part of the state, ranging from booming urban cities to quiet rural settings.  Westchester County encompasses 433 sq miles of land and 67 sq miles of water.  The county is made up of 6 cities, 19 towns, and 20 villages.  It is bordered on the West by the Hudson River and on the East by the Long Island Sound.

Westchester features thousands of acres of county parkland, numerous hiking and mountain biking trails, wildlife preserves, arts and cultural events, beaches, and our very own historic amusement park.  There are countless activities for you to enjoy.  The county government also owns and operates one of the nation´s most environmentally friendly airports, a nationally accredited community college, an award-winning public transportation system and the Westchester County Center, a large public assembly and meeting facility. County government provides many important services ranging from public health protection to road and bridge repair, police patrols to cultural programs and municipal planning. Our sound fiscal policies earn us the highest possible bond ratings and help hold the line on property taxes. Access to major highways, parkways, and commuter rail lines makes commuting to places like NYC easy and Westchester County a great place to live.